Resilience Working Group

In 2005, the CNMI government, together with other Pacific Island governments, endorsed the Pacific Islands Framework for Action on Climate Change, which established principles, timelines, and outcomes for building capacity to be resilient to the impacts of climate change.

In 2012, CNMI convened the Climate Change Working Group, comprised of representatives from 33 participating CNMI and federal government agencies, business and tourism associations, and non-governmental organizations. The Working Group is identifying valuable assets and vulnerabilities to climate change, in an effort to the lay the foundation for adaptation. Climate change vulnerability assessments have been completed for the islands of Saipan, Tinian, and Rota, and include spatial data and mapping.

On June 20, 2017, Governor Ralph Torres signed Executive Directive 2017-01, establishing the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands Resilience Working Group that will devise and implement a long-term plan to protect the Commonwealth’s environment against climate change and its impacts. This group is continuing efforts to identify and address climate impacts and build resilient ecosystems, economies, and communities in the CNMI.